Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Massachusetts Personal Injury Attorney Discusses Ban on Cell Phone While Driving

Attorney Steven Whitman discusses Massachusetts’ ban on texting which became effective as of September 30, 2010.

The new Massachusetts law bans texting for all drivers and cell phone use to driver’s under 18 years of age. Adult fines are $100.00 for the first offense, then increasing to $250.00 and then $500.00. The fine for those under 18 years of age is $100.00 plus a 60 day license suspension and youth traffic school. Thereafter, the fines increase for minors to $250.00 with a sixth month license suspension and then $500.00 plus a one year suspension for a third offense.

Even though the Highway Loss Data Institute performed a study that found no reduction in bans on texting I think this law should save lives and prevent countless accidents. It has been my experience as a Massachusetts personal injury attorney engaged in automobile accident claims that cell phone usage plays a role in a high percentage of accidents. Although the law will be difficult to enforce, just getting driver’s to think about leaving their cell phones in their pockets while driving will increase safety on our roads. Sphere: Related Content